# KANSAS DENTAL BOARD

900 SW Jackson, Suite. 455-S, Topeka, KS 66612 785-296-6400 website: <u>www.dental.ks.gov</u>

## LEVEL III ANESTHESIA PERMIT APPLICATION

DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA (K.A.R. 71-5-12)

**NOTE:** The anesthesia permit renews at the same time as your Kansas dental license which, after initial issuance, may result in less than 2 years before renewal. The application fee is NOT prorated. The total \$200 fee amount is required at time of application.

Kansas Lio	cense No.						
First Name		Ini	tial	Last Name			
Practice L	ocation(s) Information						
Address		City			State	Zip [	
Address		City			State	Zip	 1

A) You must provide a copy of a current "Advanced Cardiac Life Support for the Health Care Provider" (ACLS) card from the American Heart Association or a current card deemed equivalent by the board from a provider approved by the board *OR* evidence of satisfactory completion of a simulated office emergency course approved by the board.

**B)** Have you had any sedation-related mortality or morbidity to a patient during the preceding 5 years that could have been associated with the administration of a sedative agent?

If you answered "Yes," provide the details including patient names, dates, and explanation on a separate document, including a copy of the treatment records of each patient.

**C)** Provide evidence of one below, either the course, or the experience to "grandfather" in:

• Evidence of having successfully completed a postdoctoral training program in deep sedation or general anesthesia that is at least 1 academic year in duration and shall include training in the administration and management of deep sedation and general anesthesia.

**OR** to "Grandfather" in:

• Evidence of performance of 20 clinical cases of deep sedation or general anesthesia over the preceding 2 years, which shall be evaluated by the board. (A form is provided for your use, or you may recreate this form as long as the information is in the same sequence.)

#### Designate here to add PEDIATRIC SEDATION to the permit. (K.A.R. 71-5-9)

This portion is for deep sedation or general anesthesia for patients 12 years of age or younger. Attach evidence of the completion of one of the 3 educational programs below taken within the last 5 years or later:

• A residency program approved by the board in dental anesthesia or pediatric dentistry or any other program that the board determines to be equivalent;

• A residency program approved by the board in general practice, oral and maxillofacial surgery, endodontics, periodontics or other advanced education in general dentistry, which shall include training in deep sedation or general anesthesia for patients 12 years of age or younger; or

• A postgraduate course or training program approved by the board that includes training in deep sedation or general anesthesia for patients 12 years of age or younger.

#### **OR** to "Grandfather" in:

By providing evidence of 20 clinical cases of deep sedation or general anesthesia of children 12 years or younger, within the last 2 years, on the form provided.

I agree by my signature that I meet all requirements described above for a Level III Permit. I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them truthfully, fully and completely. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the foregoing is true and correct.

#### KANSAS DENTAL BOARD 900 SW Jackson, Suite.455-S, Topeka, KS 66612 785-296-6400 website: www.dental.ks.gov

### Evidence of Performance of 20 Clinical Cases of Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia over preceding 2 years for Level III Sedation Permit.

Kansas License No.

**Dentist Name** 

Under K.A.R. 71-5-12, you may receive a grandfathered permit if you have performed 20 clinical cases of deep sedation or general anesthesia over the preceding 2 years.

To satisfy this regulation, report dates, patients' ID numbers, and the anesthesia administered to the patient on this form or any document with a similar format.

	Date	Patient ID # or Identifier	Name & Amount of Anesthesia Administered	Age of Patients for ages 12 or Under
1.				
2.				
3.				
4.				
5.				
6				
∟ 7. ┌─				
8.				
9				
10.				
11.				
12.				
13.				
14.				
15.				
16.				
17.				
18.				
19.				
20.				