Dentists

Licensing

Every person who desires to practice dentistry in Kansas must submit a written application and proof that the applicant is at least 21 years of age, of good moral character, and a graduate of a dental school or college approved by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).  Other requirements are outlined in each application below.   

LICENSING BY EXAMINATION

If you are a recent graduate from a school or have been licensed in another state for less than 5 years, you will apply by Examination.

LICENSING BY CREDENTIAL

If you have been licensed for more than 5 years and have practiced during the past 5 years from the date of application, you will apply by Credential.

LICENSING BY REINSTATEMENT OF A KANSAS LICENSE

If you previously held a Kansas license, but the license is no longer active, and you have practiced during the past 5 years from the date of application, you will apply by Reinstatement.

LICENSING BY RETURNING A "RETIRED" OR "DISABLED" KANSAS LICENSE TO "ACTIVE"

If you have placed your Kansas license on retired or disabled status, you will apply by Return to Active Status.

SPECIAL VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE

If you are retired from active practice and wish to donate your expertise for the dental care and treatment of indigent and underserved persons, you will apply by Special Volunteer Dental License.

Specialty Licensing

The recognized branches of dentistry for which application may be made for a specialist's certificate are the following:  dental public health, endodontics, oral and maxillofacial pathology, oral and maxillofacial radiology, oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, and prosthodontics.  If you are seeking a specialty license in Kansas, you must apply for a Specialty License.

P.A. or L.L.C. Formation

If you wish to form a Professional Association (P.A.) or a Limited Liability Company (L.L.C.) in relation to your practice of dentistry, you will apply for a Certificate.  After you receive the Certificate from the Board, you will be required to finalize your business formation with the Kansas Secretary of State.

License Verification To Another State

If you are seeking a license in another state and are required to submit a verification or certification of your Kansas license, please complete the Verification of Licensure Request Form.


Sedation Permits

A dentist shall not be required to obtain a permit from the board to administer nitrous oxide and oxygen to a patient of any age when either substance is used alone or with a local anesthetic.  K.A.R. 71-5-9(a).

On and after December 1, 2010, only a dentist with an appropriate license or  permit, another person authorized by Kansas law to administer the sedative agent under supervision at the time of administration, or a person authorized by Kansas law to administer the sedative agent without supervision may administer a sedative agent that is designed to achieve anxiolysis, enteral conscious sedation, parenteral conscious sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia as part of a dental procedure.  K.A.R. 71-5-9(k).   

LEVEL I PERMIT:  ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION OR COMBINATION INHALATION-ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION

If you wish to administer a sedative agent that is designed to achieve conscious sedation, you will apply for a Level I Permit.   

If you need to take a Board approved course to acquire your Level I Permit, you may contact the following providers:

Rocky Mountain Sedation
https://rockymountainsedation.com/

DOCSEducation
http://www.docseducation.com/

Conscious Sedation Consulting
http://www.sedationconsulting.com/

UMKC School of Dentistry
http://dentistry.umkc.edu/Continuing_Dental_Education/condented.shtml#1138

Anesthesia Education & Safety Foundation
http://sedationce.com/

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
http://www.aapd.org/

LEVEL II PERMIT:  PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION

If you wish to administer a sedative agent that is designed to achieve parenteral conscious sedation, you will apply for a Level II Permit

If you need to take a Board approved course to acquire your Level II Permit, you may contact the following providers:

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
http://www.aapd.org/

Conscious Sedation Consulting
http://www.sedationconsulting.com/

LEVEL III PERMIT:  DEEP SEDATION AND GENERAL ANESTHESIA

If you wish to administer a sedative agent that is designed to achieve deep sedation or general anesthesia, you will apply for a Level III Permit.

Dental Office Administrative Services Provider Registration

If you wish to associate with a dental office administrative services provider (franchisor), the franchisor will submit a Dental Office Administrative Services Provider Registration.  

Mobile Dental Facility or Portable Dental Operation

If you wish to operate a mobile dental facility or portable dental operation, you will submit a Registration Form for Mobile Dental Facility or Portable Dental Operation.


Supragingival Scaling Assistant Reporting

If you are employing a supragingival scaling assistant (nonlicensed person) who has received a certificate from an educational entity, you must file a report with the Board.