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Postcard Renewal Notification For Even-Numbered Licensees

NOTICE OF

RENEWAL

Dental Board

Kansas.gov offers online license renewals at
www.accesskansas.org/kdb/licensure.html

You will NNOT receive a paper renewal form.
Renew online today! No further notices
about license renewal will be sent.

For more information about Kansas Dental Board
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It 1z license renewal tine for
dentists and dental hyglenists who
have even-nurnbered licenses. Tnder
Kansas law, even-numbered licen-
sees must renew their licenses in
evern-numbered vears. Additionally,
the evern-numbered licensees must
renew by December 1, 2012, The
license renewal will be wvalid for 2
Vears.

The license renewal process
will be different this year. The Board
will no longer mail pre-populated re-
newal forms and return envelopes to
the ewven-numbered licensees In-
stead, each even-numbered licensee
will receive 1n the mail the postcard
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12.1.12

renewal notification that
ahove.

When you receive the posteard,
vou may either go to the Board's web-
site to renew online or use a blank
form to print and mail with the correct
renewal fee. Please make sure that
vou have a current matling address on
file.  Again, no other renewal forms
will be mailed.

If vou are retired and wish to
mairtain a retired status, yvou will still
have to fill ot a form  Renewing in
retired status online will cost $3. Ee-
newing 1n retired status on the paper
form will have no cost. The printable
paper form will be found on the

Board’s wehsite.
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Continuing Education For License Renewals

Under KATR 71-4-1(b),

each dentist licensee must hawve at
least 60 hours of continuing dental
education courses.  Further, each
dentist licensee who holds a spe-
cialist certificate must ensure that at
least 40 of the &0 hours of continu-
ing dental education are in courses
in the specialty for which the licen-
see holds a specialist certificate.
Each required course hour shall
have been completed 1n the 24-
maonth period immediately preced-
ing the date of expiration of the li-
CENSE.

Tnder E AE  71-4-1(c),
each dental hygienist licensee must
hawve at least 30 hours of continuing
dental education courses. Each re-

quired course hour shall hawve
been completed in the 24-month
period immediately preceding the
date of expiration of the license.
Dentists and dental hy-
gienists who have questions about
whether courses qualify for credit
are encouraged to review E A E
71-4-2, which outlines the general
standards that are used by the
Board 1n  determining  which
courses will qualify for continu-
ing dental education credits.
Eandom audits of continu-
ing dental education courses
begin in February of each wear
Tnless chosen for a random audit,
licensees are not required to sub-
mit copies of any continuing den-

tal education certificates or a
list of the continuing education
courses taken. If chosen for an

audit, licensees will be re-
quired to subtnit certificates.

CONTIVUNG

EDUCATION

BCLS Card Reminder For License Renewals

Az a  remmder,  under
K.AR 71-4-1, each licensee must
obtain a current “basic cardiac life
suppott for the health care provider”
cettificate.  Any of the following
Arerican Heart Association certi-
fied, American FEed Cross certified,
o Ammerican Safety and Health In-
stitute (ASHI) courses are accepta-
hle to fulfill thiz new regulatory re-
gquirement for license renewal;

(13 PBasic Life Support
(BL3) for healthcare providers;

(2) Pediatric Advanced Lafe
Support (PALS) for healthcare pro-
widers; or

(3) Adwvanced Cardiac Life
Support (ACLE) for healthcare pro-
widers.

Additionally, an online
course 15 acceptable only if there
12 a “hands-on” portion for the
cettification course. The Board
will not accept any online course
that does not have a demonstra-
ble “hands-on”™ portion for the
certification course.

Unless chosen for a ran-
dom audit, copies of cards do
not need to be subritted with
license renewals. Licensees
will, howewer, he required to
subtnit the expiration date of the
CPE card with the license re-
newals.

This new regulatory re-
gquiretnent applies to all future
license renewal periods.
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Board Prevails In Legal Challenge Against Teeth Whitening Business

The Board recetves tm erous com-
plaints each year regarding free-standing teeth
whiterung businesses or shopping mall kiosks
that allow one or more unlicensed persons to
petform activities that may constitute the prac-
tice of dentistry without the direct supervision
of a lcensed dentist. One of the complaints
resulted i1 the Board’s decision to pursue legal
action against a free-standing teeth whiterung

businiess.

Ity Eemisas Denfal Board v. Owe Howr
amile, Shawnee County District Court Case 10-
C-1535%, the Board sought injunctive relief

New Board Member,
Jackie Leakey, R.D.H.

At its regularly scheduled
public meeting on Friday, August
10, 2012, the Board welcomed itz
newest member, Jadkie Leakey,
R.D.H  Mszs. Leakey succeeds
Denize Maus, RD.H. Appointed
by the Governor to fulfill a 4-year
term, Ms. Leakey is excited to
join the Board.
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against One Hour Smile. After a hearing the
mhawnee County District Court miled in favor
of the Kansas Dental Board, Among its marsy
findings, the Court detesnined “that the teeth
whitering service provided by One Hour
amile constitutes the ille gal practice of dentis-
try and dental hygene, as defined by the Kan-
sas Dental Practices Act at K5.A 65-1424
and 65-1456 and AR T71-11-17 It entered
“ati order enjoiinz One Hour Smile from
contining to provide teeth whiterung ser-
Fices”

The Digtrict Court’s Order is final
because One Hour Bmie did not file an appeal
to the Kansas Cout of Appeals.

Special Volunteer Dental License

Effective July 1, 2012, the Kansas Dental Practic-
ez Act now permits the Board to issue a Special Volun-
teer Dental License. The license expires on June 30 of
each year and must be renewed on a yearly basiz. It is
for dentists who are retired and wish to donate their ex-
pertize for the treatment of indigent and underserved
Kangans. Among other qualifications, applicants cannot
have been the subject of any disciplinary action in any
state. Applications are on the Board’s website.

Investigative Committee Report

From July 2012 to September 2012, the Investigative Com-
mittee opened 22 new cages. During this same time period, the
Committee closed 10 cases with outcomes ranging from findings
of no violation to letters of concern or admonition regarding spe-
cific igsues identified by the Committee. There were no discipli-
nary actions taken during this time period. Copies of the Board
Orders can be found on the Board’s website:

www. kanszaz. zov/
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Frequently Asked Question: Can | practice without completing my license renewal requirements?
Answer: Mo. You must have a license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene.

Name and Change of
Address

YTou may now submit a
change of name or change of address
through the Board's wehbsite using a
fillable form on the Board's website:
warwr kansas sovildb.

Future Board Kansas Dental Well-
Meetings Being Program
Friday, Movember 2, 2012 For assistance with drg, alco-
Friday, January 18, 2013 hol, and other personal problems, you

Frid:;._*:.r May 3 2’[:]13 may contact John Childers, Heart of

America Professional Wetworl, 6405

. _ Metcalf Avenue, J3uite 502, Owerland
All meetings held in Topeka  pae Kansas 66202 or (913) 236-7575.
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