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It’s That Time Of Year Again!
Online Renewal for Even-Number Licensees
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It iz license renewal time for
dentists and dental hygienists who
have even-numbered licenses. Under
Kansas law, even-numbered licen-
sees must renew thewr licenses m
even-numbered years. Additionally,
the even-numbered licensees must
renew by December 1, 2014, The
license renewal will be valid for 2
Vears.

Like last year, the license re-
newal process will be different. The
Board will no longer mail pre-
populated renewal forms and retum
envelopes to the even-numbered li-
censees.  Instead, each  even-
numbered licensee will receive a
pink postcard renewal notification
that appears abave,

When vou receive the post-
card, you may either go to the
Board’s website to renew online or
use a blank form to print and mail
with the correct renewal fee. Please
make sure that you have a current
matling address on file. Again, no
other renewal forms will be mailed.

If yvou are retired and wish to
maintain a retired status, you will
still have to fill out a form. Renew-
ing in retired status online will cost
3. For those renewing in retired
status on the paper form, there will
beno cost. The online renewal por-
tal and the printable paper form will
be found on the Board's website,
Cwww dental lzs gov’




The vision of the Kansas Dental Board is to balance commitment and focus on public health.

‘ Continuing Education for License Renewals

expiration of the license. taken. If chosen for an avdit,
Under EAFR 714-1(c), licensees will be requred to

each dental hygienist licensee must  submit certficates.

hawe at least 30 hours of continu- All ADA CERP and

ing dental education courses. Each  AGD PACE programs are

required course hour shall have  accepted for continuing edu-

been completed in the 24-month  cation.

10d diatel s h
o of expiration e the hoense. DA CERP°

Drentists and dental hj.rgi E1l- Continuing Education Recognition Program

1sts who have questions about
whether courses qualify for credit A_ MCE
Academy

are encouraged to review KAR. ks Al foF

Under EAR  71-4-1(b), 71-4-2, which outlines the general Continuing Education

each dentist licensee must have ar  Standards that are used by the
least 60 hours of continuing dental ~ Doard in determining which cours- -
education courses. Further, each  ©f Will q"jahfy f‘:’? continuing den-

dentist licensee who holds a special- tal education '31"3‘51”:5-_ _

ist certificate must ensure that at Eandom gud1ts of cottinu-
least 40 of the 60 hours of continu- 108 dental education courses begin
ing dental education are in coursesin 11t February of each year. Unless
the specialty for which the licensee chosen for a rand-::-.m audit, 11'3'3117‘
holds a specialist certificate. Each 5888 are not required to subrmit
required course hour shall have been  COPIEs of any continuing dental
completed in the 24-month period educaticon certificates or a list of
immediately preceding the date of the continuing education courses

of Geaenil Demifstry =

Sedation Permit Renewals By Paper Only

A1l dentists with an even-numbered license who hold a sedation permit will be required to renew the
sedation permnit at the same time as the dental license.

medation permnits will only be availlable for renewal on a paper form. The Board oftfice will send pa-
per renewal forms for sedation pertnits. The sedation permit renewal forms will arrive on a yellow-
colored paper in the mail at the most current mailing address on file.

Lewel T permit holders must have six hours of continuing education limited to sedation, which are in
addition to the continuing education hours required to renew the dentist’s license.

Levwel IT permit helders must have eight hours of continuing education limited to sedation and shall
include the complications associated with parenteral conscious sedation and their management. These hours
are 10 addition tothe continung education hours required to renew the dentist’s license.

Level IIT permit holders must have eight hours of continuing education limited to sedation and shall
include the complications associated with airways and intravenous sedation and their management. These
hours are 1n addition to the continuing education hours required to renew the dentist’s license.
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The American Dental Association is the oldest and largest national dental society in the world.

Fee Reduction fer Licensees Board Welcomes Newest
;l Staff Member
The Board 1z happy to an-

nounce starting this renewal period
that license fees will be reduced by
$25 Dentists will now pay 275 to
renew thetr license and dental hy-
gienists will pay $125 to renew their
license. Online renewal processing
fees will apply.

The Board would like to wel-
come its new staftf member, Chanty
Catlat. s Carlat joined the Board in
August of 2014, Ms Carlat’s adminis-
trative duties will include investigations
and finances. s Catlat has spent the
past five wears i private law practice,
as a paralegal, deoing family, criminal,
banlruptey and social security law. s
Catlat 1z excited to be a part of the

&l’g Board and 15 lecking forward to her
: time here.

Facial Injections To Reduce Signs Of Aging Is Not The Practice of Dentistry

Fecently, the Board office has received KSA 63-1422. Persons deemed to be praciicing dentisiry.
A person shall be deemed to be practicing dentistry:

fa) Who periorms, or affempls or professes lo periorm,
any dental operation o oral surgery or dental sevvice of
any kind, gratuitously or v @ salavp, fee, monegy or other

somme inouiries about the possitbility of prowviding
Botox or dermal fillers to complement service of-
ferings bevond restorative or preventative dental

procedures.  As a result, the Board office is reruneration paid or to be paid divectly or indivectly, to

providing its newsletter article from February Such peYson oF fo amp othey person o¥ agency who is o

2011 below. proprietor of @ place wherve dental operations, orval suy-
All dental boards are facing the 1ssue of gery oy dental sevvices are performed; ov . .

whether or not a general dentist can use botuli- () who diagnoses, or professes 1o diagnose, prescribe for,

or professes fo prascribe fr, freats, or profsses 1o freat,
diseqse, pain, deformily, deficiency, imjury or physical
condition of the huwam tecth or jows, or adjacent struc-

nutn toxmin type A, commonly called Botox, or
dermal fillers, as a cosmetic remedy for facial ag-

ing. There are many continuing education pro- e

gramns that protote this procedure to physicians,

nurses, and dentists. Sotme of the courses have “While the continuing education and pharma-

ADAMCERTR approval. The Eansas Dental Board ceutical businesses find it profitable to market these

discussed this 1ssue at its meeting of October 31, drugs and procedures for facial procedures, if they are

200% and adopted the following policy: not a part of a dental process, the dentist 1z practicing
The use of these products 1s to be “limited beyond the scope of the dental license.

to the practice of dentistry and the practice of den- At this point there are no statutes or regulations

tistry 1s defined in the Dental Practices Act” pertaining directly to this point. However, any dentist

“When reading the defimtions of dentistry, there 13 who 1s doing injections that are not for a dental pur-

no mention of any facial enhancements and in fact pose will be considered as not practicing within the

the closest portion of the definition of dentistry standard of care of dentistry and can be subject to dis-

would be: cipline by the board.
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Qur mission is to ensure and protect dental health by enforcement of the Kansas Dental Laws.

Kansas Dental Board

Landaon State Office Building
900 5. Jaclson, Room 564-5
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1230

Phone: ¥E5-296-6400
Fax: TE5-296-3116
E-mail:  Info@dental ks gow

Visit Our Website at:

www.dental.ks.gov

BOARD STAFF

E. Lane Hemsley, Executive Director
lane hemsley@dental ks gov

Chanty Catlat, Sentor Administrative Specialist
Finances, Licensing, and Investigations
chanty carl at(@dental ks gov

Vanda Colling, Senior Administrative b ssistant

Licensing and Continuing Education

vanda@dental ks oov

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTION : Can a dentist administer a flu yvaccine to patients?
ANSWER: No. A dentist cannot administer a flu vaccine to patients.

BCLS Card Reminder

& quick reminder that all
renewing licensees will be re-
quired to have a current BCLS
card prior to renewing their li-
cense. The Board will not accept
any online course that do not

vAWA

have a “hands on” pottion for the cer- _
tificate. Up to 4 hours of CPR train- | FUture Board Meetings
ing will count tewards yvour continu-
ing education requiretn ents.

Friday, November 7, 2014
Friday, January 16, 2015
Friday, Apnl 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
All meetings held in Topeka.
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